Skip to main content



Peterson Society Luncheon Celebrates Philanthropy

Posted: September 28, 2011

More than 100 members of the Peterson Society were recognized for their generosity to the college at the Peterson Society Luncheon, Wednesday, September 21, at the Buffalo Club.

The Peterson Society honors those who have made a gift to the college in their wills or through other estate planning means.

“Each of our planned gift donors is an instrument of transformation,” said Susanne P. Bair, vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the Buffalo State College Foundation. “A donor may never know just how many people they will touch; how many lives will be transformed by their gift. But they should know that, because of them, lives will be changed for the better.”

Bair joined President Aaron Podolefsky and James Brandys, ’71, ’73, Buffalo State College Foundation Planned Giving Committee, in offering remarks. Paul R. Homer, professor emeritus of performing arts, served as pianist for the event.

Twenty-one new members were inducted into the society this year, including Gwendolyn O. Arcara, ’71, ’74; Phyliss Angela Pastore Cionni (deceased); Eleanor W. Greatbatch, ’42, (deceased); Thomas Y. “Tom” Hobart Jr., ’60 (and Dorothy A. Hobart); J. B. Lankes (deceased); Donald I. MacDavid (deceased); John E. “Jack” Mack Jr. (and Jayne Mack); Barbara Schillawski Mautz, ’53; Donna Denise “Dee” Minault (deceased); Henry D. Olsen, ’63, ’65 (and Florence Olsen); Beverly N. Perkins, ’86; Ronald J. “Ron” Peters, ’59; Paul H. Sanio, ’63, ’66; Edward W. Sontag, ’62, ’67; Dorothy “Dottie” Stender Sweet; Augustus O. “Bud” Thomas II; Kathryn A. “Kate” Ward, ’81; Fredric Winer, ’69, and Jill Reiss Winer, ’70; Gerhardt J. Yaskow; and Sonia L. Young, ’54, ’65.

The Peterson Society is named after the late Harold F. Peterson and his late wife, Lucille Mattern Peterson, ’39, in honor of their legacy of giving to Buffalo State. Dr. Peterson served Buffalo State as professor and chair of the History Department and became the first faculty member from Buffalo State to receive the State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. He was later honored with the title of Distinguished Professor, the highest honor awarded by the State University of New York system. Upon retirement, he established a trust that first provided for Lucille during her lifetime, and now provides scholarships for Buffalo State students. Previously known as the Heritage Society, the college’s planned giving society was renamed the Peterson Society in recognition of Harold and Lucille’s commitment to the university and their encouragement to others to leave a lasting legacy at Buffalo State. Their legacy and dedication to Buffalo State College lives on today.

To become a member of the Peterson Society, contact the Buffalo State Development Office, Cleveland Hall 304, (716) 878-4658.


Back to top

Giving to Buffalo State

1300 Elmwood Ave  •  Cleveland Hall 304  •  Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: (716) 878-4658  •